“FANCY WATER PLAY”

“Be careful what you water your dreams with. Water them with worry and fear and you will produce weeds that choke the life from your dream. Water them with optimism and solutions and you will cultivate success. Always be on the lookout for ways to turn a problem into an opportunity for success. Always be on the lookout for ways to nurture your dream.”
– Tao Te Ching

There are meny things a person does everyday that can just go right through them without any kind of second thought, but when a daily task becomes more than just a task, it can actualy not only change some moral views but also change a life. My name is Edder Velazquez and I am a proud member of the Mile High Youth Corps Water Conservation department.

And I know what you’re thinking, “those are some fancy words for people who install toilets.” But for me it’s much more than that, it’s a life changing experience.

I have to admit, I really haven’t been part of this crew for very long but in the past few weeks that I have been here I have seen, heard, and felt things that I can genuinely say no other job has made me experience.

Let me start with the basics. Our Water Crew consists of four teams of crew members, both new and returning members to Mile High Youth Corps. Each team will be accompanied with a crew leader. Now our “mission” everyday is to head out to any low income housing organization or residence and pretty much replace their toilet. That may not sound very hard or even sanitary but the experience and stories you gain from this work is worth waking up everyday at 6 am and coming in to work.

Just the other day my team actually was able to watch as a 92-year old lady was almost in tears as she discribed her feelings about her new toilet. She told us it was one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for her, and that she hasn’t seen her daughter in 13 years and having a toliet as nice and “beautiful” as the one we installed will allow her daughter to truly enjoy her time with this fine elderly lady. Like I said, it’s just the little things in life, like a persons gratitude, is what should drive the world. I am honored to be part of this magnificent team of individuals and I can not wait to go at it again a second term.

Thank you.
– Edder Velasquez

For any questions or if you would like to know more about this “little” organization head to www.milehighyouthcorps.org.

One thought on ““FANCY WATER PLAY”

  1. That sounds like an awesome experience, Edder. You gave me goosebumps. I’ve had some special cross-generational experiences myself while performing energy efficiency audits for Youth Corps. I once did an audit a 92-year-old man who had worked for the original Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s, and I later went back for a tape-recorded interview of his memories of that experience. Working in strangers’ homes produces some unforgettable moments…

Leave a Reply

