We’re Back For More

Last February, I embarked on a journey from Chicago to Denver to serve as an AmeriCorps Leadership and Conservation member, not knowing what my ten months of service had in store for me. The experience brought me to places I never dreamed I would be, doing things I could not have possibly imagined. As my term drew to a close, I was fortunate to have the opportunity to spend another year of service at Mile High Youth Corps, this time as the Conservation Alumni Mentor. I look forward to 2010 for many reasons, not the least of which is the chance to offer my support and perspective to the incoming AmeriCorps Leadership and Conservation Corpsmembers. In my role as Alumni Mentor, I will be able to direct and inspire Corpsmember voice through my involvement in projects such as Leadership Council, Service Learning, and other Environmental Education. I hope to allow incoming Corpsmembers the chance to flourish in their quest to develop into the men and women that are the backbone of a healthy society.

-Steve Lynch

With one year at Mile High Youth Corps under my belt, I have taken off my cargo pants and work boots and changed into business casual as I start year two as the Outreach Alumni Mentor. I’m trading a chainsaw for a laptop and a screw driver for a high-tech work cell phone. Things are changing and less than a week into my new position I’m already feeling the excitement of opportunity and the stress of an office job. The emails are flowing and the phone is ringing and I’m ready to see what this next year has to offer. In my new position I hope to bridge the gap between Corpsmembers and staff, promote communication and conflict resolution and get out into the field recruiting new Corpsmembers and spreading the word about the amazing work done at MHYC. I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of the new water and energy Corpsmembers in February, excited to see how they will take on the challenges and opportunities at their fingertips.

-Vanessa Notman

Leave a Reply

