Water Conservation at MHYC

Hi my name is Ed Flores and I am on the water crew here at MHYC, I think the main point of this blog is to let the outside world get a glimpse of our little special universe here at Mile High Youth Corps.

The first point that I would like to make is that MHYC is not just a “job” for me, meaning that I don’t just come to work every morning, do what’s asked of me, get a paycheck and go home. For me, MHYC is more than a job, its a place where I wake up in the morning and say WOO! I get to go install High Efficiency Toilets (HETs) in low-income homes.

Now for some this might not sound like the most appealing job. Everyday I go somewhere new, I have no idea where I’m going until I am loaded in the van, sometimes the places I go into are not the most pleasant, maybe we encounter some grumpy clients after waking them up at 9 a.m. on their day off, sometimes the sewer gases feel like they are burning your eyebrows off, sometimes old toilet water splashes all over you, or maybe even a tool slips and falls down the pipe and the person on your team with the smallest arms has to fish it out… but the thing that makes all of this worth it is the immediate satisfaction of the client and their family seeing this brand new thing in their home, this wonderful gift of a new, water-saving toilet that we have given them free of charge.

Then comes the secondary satisfaction of the awesome knowledge that I have just saved gallons and gallons of water, and money for this family which in turn saves more water for me, you, Denver, Colorado, the USA, and ultimately the world… all with just an hour of my time in bad sewer gas, broken bolts, four-story walk ups, and a chunk of porcelain, and that is why I love Mile High Youth Corps.

-Ed Flores, Water Conservation Senior Corpsmember

Leave a Reply

