Summer of Service, Round Two

Last summer I knew I needed to get a job before heading up to college. I knew I didn’t want to work inside, especially fast food. When I was told of Mile High Youth Corps I immediately wanted to apply. What sounds more fun than only working four days a week outside in beautiful Colorado weather? Seeing youth in the company’s title I figured it would be easy. I couldn’t have been further from the truth.

The difficulty of the first few weeks was unprecedented to say the least. I hadn’t realized I was signing up to be mauled by Russian Olive trees. Nor had I realized that working ten hour days is excruciating on just 4 hours of sleep and no lunch. But it was in those thorny first weeks that our crew truly became a team. You get to know people on a deeper level when they are exhausted and fed up. I learned more about my crew members in just 3 weeks than I had about my best friends in 18 years.

Gradually the days seemed to be shorter, waking up wasn’t so awful, and the thorn pricks just seemed to be “all in a day’s work.” The rest of the summer was fantastic. I kept learning about my fellow crew members and to this day still talk to some of them daily. If you’re thinking about a summer job and don’t want to sit around all day in a kitchen, or if you want to get to know yourself better, or even if you just want to build lasting relationships with great people, MHYC is perfect for you. Every summer you’ll come back to Mile High (as I am) wanting to have the same summer job and the same great experience.

-Kris Amstutz, 2009 and 2010 Trailblazers Corpsmember

Leave a Reply

