The Countdown Continues for Future YouthBuild Corpsmembers

Three days to go of YouthBuild’s Mental Toughness and the future Corpsmembers are excited about the next step in the hiring process.

Not sure what Mental Toughness is? Read YouthBuild Almuni Mentor Alanis Chamber’s blog about it here.

“Mental Toughness has made me do stuff I NEVER thought I’d do. I’ve worked with and spoken to people I never would have outside of Mental Toughness, I’ve cleaned up the community and I’ve never exercised so hard in my life,” said Sharmine Chapman, 20, who is a shining example of what a good YouthBuild Corpsmember should be like.

Sharmine has been sure to be on time everyday for Mental Toughness and participate in the activities so as to ensure herself a slot in the program. The participants get a daily dose of exercise, starting every morning with Physical Training. Then the group is divided into two crews; one crew is busy making their “life maps” depicting the ups and downs of their experiences and the other crew is spending time in the construction room learning about sustainability and green building.

Sharmine is excited about the program and ready to make some positive changes in her life, “I want to be a part of Mile High Youth Corps’ YouthBuild Program because I feel it will be a jumpstart to my future, a great opportunity for me and my son.”

Leave a Reply

