Meet Kara Silbernagel

If you haven’t made your way to EMCC yet, let me introduce you to Kara Silbernagel! She is part of the group of staff at Mile High Youth Corps that works at our East Colfax location. Below you will find her answers to some questions about her favorite things to do in Colorado, MHYC and some facts about herself.

Where are you from?
Palisade, CO – best peaches in the US!

What is your position at MHYC?
Special Projects Coordinator

What brought you to MHYC?
In 2005 I was a summer CM at MHYC and had an amazing experience. From that moment on, I knew I wanted to return to the youth corps world and work in a staff capacity, I never thought it would be back at MHYC though!

What was your background before MHYC? Have you always worked in non-profits?
I have my Bachelor’s in Statistics from the University of Denver. While at DU, I completed work study for another non-profit in the area and got me connected pretty quickly to the non-profit world in Denver. After serving as a CM in between my Junior/Senior year at college, I knew I wanted to pursue a career in environmental non-profits. I worked for Northwest Youth Corps in Oregon before moving back to Denver and working for a small forestry company in boulder and then moving onto Volunteers for Outdoor Colorado.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
Everything! From a vet to an artist to a ski bum, I could never settle on just one thing.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be?
The ability to shrink and enlarge people. The idea of taking all the amazing people I’ve met, storing them in my pocket and blowing them up to life-size for a day to catch up with them at a moments notice would be great!

What is your favorite burrito restaurant?
Taza de Café, best breakfast burrito in town. Not too greasy, but not too healthy either.

What is your favorite thing to do in Colorado?
Explore. By far, I love spending my time backcountry skiing. Avoiding the crowds, “earning the turns” and seeing a lot of places in CO that most people never see until the snow is melted is such a calming and peaceful experience.

What is your favorite part of MHYC?
OF course the people. Whether it’s catching up with the Corpsmembers, or meeting one of the energy/water clients, or talking to project sponsors. It’s always fun to talk to all the different people that are impact by MHYC and what we do in so many different ways

One thought on “Meet Kara Silbernagel

Leave a Reply

