My First YouthBuild Graduation


Last year, as an ACLC, I completed my 10 month term and graduated with my fellow crewmates, the energy program and the water program. The ceremony was thoughtful and a great way to celebrate all of our time spent at MHYC! I left that day with the feelings of pride, accomplishment and happiness as I looked back over the work I had done and the people I had gotten to know.

I am now almost half way done with my term as an Alumni Mentor, and I got the privilege to attend the YouthBuild graduation last week. I had very little expectations, but thought the ceremony would be very similar to my own. Instead, I found myself among large numbers of friends, family, supporters of MHYC and most importantly the YouthBuild Corpsmembers in their cap and gowns. It was truly a celebration and a landmark in the Corpsmembers’ lives.

At the graduation we were all motivated by the words of the Lieutenant Governor Joseph Garcia, touched by the poetry of Denver Gomez and inspired by the speech given by Kenny Luckes.

If you want to hear the words that I got to hear, flip though our videos.



Corpsmembers seemed to all agree that they will miss their crew most of all when they leave MHYC!


Congratulations again to the YouthBuild crew of 2011 and good luck to you all!
~Michelle, Outreach Alumni Mentor

One thought on “My First YouthBuild Graduation

Leave a Reply

