Meet Olivia Navarro-Gomez

Olivia is the wonderful part of our staff that helps schedule and organize our incredible energy work in the Denver Community. You may not see her too often, she is always busy on the phone at Canosa, but she took some time to answer my questions and tell me a little bit more about herself.

DO YOU WANT AN ENERGY AUDIT DONE IN YOUR HOME OR POSSIBLY RECEIVE A NEW TOILET? GIVE OLIVIA A CALL AT (303) 433-1206, Opt. 1, Ext. 522.

Do you want to be on our schedule board?


Where are you from?
I’m originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, but I’ve spent most of my life in Denver.

What is your position at MHYC?
I’m Client Intake staff for the Energy Conservation Program here at MHYC.

What brought you to MHYC?
After my first interview with Tara and Erica, I felt that I was a perfect fit! I had always enjoyed interacting with people, but I like a good challenge every now and then and since I didn’t have “cold calling” experience, I wanted to try something new. I’ve been with MHYC for over 1 year now and the rest is history.

What was your background before MHYC? Have you always worked in non-profits?
I was fortunate enough to having had the opportunity to be a stay at home mom for 1 year before I came to MHYC. I had previously worked for a couple of local nonprofits doing human resources, accounting and administrative duties.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
I’m still trying to figure that out! Seriously, as a very young child, I wanted to be an actress, I loved the glamour and glitz…then it was a lawyer but when I learned that there was a lot of reading involved, I had a change of heart. I love writing and have aspirations of being a successful author of children’s books.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be?
Being a working mother of 2 is a superpower in itself! Really, if I could have a superpower it would be to have the ability of space-time manipulation, like the character Hiro from the TV show Heroes. I am fascinated with historic events and would like to have been there in person to experience what it was really like.

What is your favorite burrito restaurant?
Super Taqueria hands down! They make an amazing super burrito…makes my mouth water just thinking about it. It can only be found in the Silicon Valley.

What is your favorite thing to do in Colorado?
Aside from spending time with my husband and 2 daughters, I love the tap water here! Really, I’m not an “X-games” kinda gal therefore I’m not very adventurous, but I really enjoy a 70’s degree weather type of day at a park.

What is your favorite part of MHYC?
The satisfaction of knowing that we’ve helped people in need of our services, especially when they call me to compliment the services that we do and the great work by corps members.

Leave a Reply

