New Colorado Springs VISTA

Hi! I’m Kate Prestine, the new VISTA at our Colorado Springs field office. I’ll be doing marketing and outreach for MHYC down here. I’ve got about a month and a half under my belt and so far, so good!

A little about me:
I’m originally from Southwestern Michigan, but call Indiana my home – spent a little over half of my life there. I’d been living in Indianapolis for nearly three years before I moved out here. I’ve got a B.A. in Journalism from Indiana University and have been using those communications and graphic design skills quite a bit here. I’m recently engaged – my fiance is a VISTA up in Denver with Trout Unlimited, but only goes up about one day a week, so we live in the Springs. I really dig hiking, paddling, biking, good beer, skiing and music. (I’ve been playing guitar for about 10 years now and am taking my first violin/fiddle lesson next week!) Also, as mentioned in my tiny monthly update profile, I have been enjoying sporting socks with Teva sandals thoroughly. (You get shunned for that sort of behavior back in the Midwest!)

Accomplishments at MHYC so far:
-Formed an advisory council for this office; consisting of community members who will meet once a month to help us brainstorm marketing, recruitment and fundraising.
-Obtained Jimmy John’s for our crew on Make a Difference Day (Oct. 22)
-Designed a MHYC postcard for the Combined Federal Campaign and had 2500 printed.
-Designed flyers and a magnet for the Combined Federal Campaign, as well. To be printed and distributed soon!

So after about a month and a half, I’m feeling pretty good about everything. If you know of anything I’m doing wrong or could be doing differently though, please don’t hesitate to contact me! Though I feel confident, I’m certainly still new! But it’s a pleasure to be here and I look forward to the rest of my year with MHYC.

Contact:
Kate Prestine
katep@mhyc.net
719-630-7421

Kate Prestine, 2011-2012 VISTA for MHYC Colorado Springs

Leave a Reply

