Meet Bekky

Meet Bekky: the Colorado Springs ACLC

Rebekka – Bekky – Harkins is the new AmeriCorps Leadership and Conservation Corpsmember (ACLC) at MHYC-Colorado Springs. You may see her in our office or out in the field, as she will be a jack-of-all-trades over the next six months. So you’ll have something to talk about when you see her, here’s a bit of information:

Age: 23

Hails From: north of Milwaukee, in southeastern Wisconsin

College: Luther College. Bachelor’s in biology and anthropology, minor in environmental science (environmental education emphasis). Graduated in May 2011.

Been in Colorado Since: November 2011, when husband obtained a job in Denver

Started with MHYC: May 2012

Why MHYC: “…I love doing conservation work, working with other people, working/being outdoors, and learning! I am really looking forward to learning more about this region of the country, including the landscape, ecology, and culture!”

Favorite Thing About MHYC So Far: “All of the varied things I have done so far! I’ve built trails, lead education sessions, built erosion control structures (head cuts), and lead team-building activities. I also have been enjoying being in many different parts of the state that I have not seen before, including Pueblo, Colorado Springs, the Hayman burn area, and Red Rocks Park.”

Goals with MHYC: “Overall, what I want to take away from my time at MHYC is what I learn about nonprofit work, a better understanding of ecology in Colorado, and all of the skills about trail building and other conservation work that I learn through my term.”

Fun Facts: Has been married for 1 year, enjoys biking, camping, hiking, cross-country skiing, reading, cooking, and spending time with family.

Leave a Reply

