YouthBuild Corpsmembers Prepare for Graduation

In three weeks, MHYC’s YouthBuild Corpsmembers will be graduating from their program.  Since September, these young men and women have been studying for the GEDs and learning new construction skills.  With a few weeks left, ten Corpsmembers have earned their GED and 17 have earned their AmeriCorps Education Award.  Nearly every Corpsmember is within one or two tests of their GED!

I caught up with two of our Corpsmembers, Eloy Gonzales-Martinez and Abby Lopez, about their time at MHYC and what they have planned for their futures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What is the most important thing you learned this year?

Eloy:  Both education and college are extremely important.  No one can take those things away from you.
Abby: You can’t get anywhere in life without having an education.

What is your favorite memory from your time at MHYC?

Eloy: My favorite memory is when I went to the Young Leaders Conference in DC.  It was the best experience of my life.  (Read more of Eloy’s thoughts about the YLC here).
Abby: Making it into the program at the very beginning of the year.  I really wanted my GED!

What are you future plans?

Eloy: I’ve been accepted to the Community College of Denver.  I am going to study there for two years and then transfer to a four year school.  I want to study Anthropology and Archeology.  I also want to stay connected with MHYC by doing another term of service.  I already applied for Summer of Service!  (For more information about our Summer of Service opportunities, click here).
Abby:  I am starting at CCD this fall, as well!  I want to become a Pharmacist.

YouthBuild graduation will be held on May 24, 2013 at St. Catejan’s on the Auraria campus.

Leave a Reply

