Corpsmember Corner: From Corpsmember to Crew Leader Pt 3

For the past twenty-two years Mile High Youth Corps has strived to help youth make a difference in themselves and their community through meaningful service opportunities and educational experiences. In that time over 2,000 Corpsmembers have completed our various programs, and this term we are lucky enough to have a few Corpsmembers return to Might High Youth Corps as Crew Leaders.

Alexandra  started at Mile High in our Land Program in 2012 on the Ridge Runners crew and the following summer she became a Crew Leader for the Vermont Youth Conservation Corps. She loves watching Corpsmembers grow and develop through the physically demanding work. She became a Crew Leader because of how incredible her Crew Leaders at MHYC were when she was a Corpsmember, “I looked up to them. I grew up because of the ways they pushed me and supported me. I don’t think people always realize when they’re impacting someone’s life in a significant way, but my Crew Leaders left their marks on me. From Water & Energy, to Land, to Fall Forestry, each one was different, but equally as impactful. I am a better person because I was taught by those strong leaders.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This summer Alexandra has returned as a Crew Leader for the Pathfinders, our overnight crew in Boulder because , “there’s nothing better than the feeling you are doing work that is bigger than you.”Alexandra has pushed herself to  be a Crew Leader that someone can look up to, a Crew Leader that has something to teach, and something to learn. “I love what MHYC does as an organization, and it means the world to me to be given the opportunity to come back as a Crew Leader and continue to try to make a difference. This program changed my life for the better, and I am so grateful that I have a chance to create that experience for someone else.”

We are honored to have her return to the Mile High Youth Corps family and we are so proud of all that she has accomplished. Thank you for making a difference in the community and with the Corpsmembers. Welcome back Alexandra!

 

Leave a Reply

